Are Monk Strap Shoes in Style?

I recently had a visitor to my etsy shop, The Home Gnome, who asked this very question. Are monk strap shoes in style? Interesting. I’ve always been a strong proponent of dressing in clothes and shoes that make you feel good about yourself. Clothes that reflect how you view yourself on the inside. For me, clothing has been a way to express who I truly am. That said, one has only to take a look back at old photos (and some new ones!) to realize that I have very often missed my own mark in the style department.

So…are monk strap shoes in style? I suppose the better question is: are they trendy right now? Well, an essential element of the monk strap shoe is the strap and buckle across the top. That’s pretty sleek which is a large element of men’s fashion right now. They have a nicely tailored look which is, thankfully, making a big comeback for men. Thank the Good Lord that men no longer feel the need to express themselves in baggy jeans/skinny jeans/t-shirts/and other atrocities but can present a polished exterior to the world and be applauded for it!

Take a look at some of these images from 1950s Teddy Boy style and tell me if you don’t approve of these gentlemen! Teddy Boy Style Images   I’m a sucker for nice suits, sharp hair and leather accessories.

Pair this gorgeous Falcone sharkskin suit with a fitted gray/purple shirt and you will look amazing wherever you go! Granted, you must be for certain this double-breasted suit is the right fit for you! I’ll do a post later on fitting men’s clothing to your features.

These are the monk strap shoes in question. The square tips and the broguing holes do date them a bit but I think they’re unique enough to hold their own in men’s right now style.

One thought on “Are Monk Strap Shoes in Style?

Leave a Reply

