The Supermoon and Vintage Bathing Suits

Supermoon 20110318 from USA

This year’s supermoon is happening this weekend and since James and I live but a hop, skip and a jump away from the nearest body of water, what better way to view the supermoon than on the beach?

And, speaking of the beach…

If you’re a fan of vintage clothing, I’ll bet you have a desire for the perfect vintage bathing suit–be ye male or female.  I have come across some lovely swim wear, but never just the right suit for myself :(  I’m not really positive what I want but I think it’s red and white polka dots, one piece (kind of like a romper with a halter-top style neck.  (I really loved the bathing suit Zooey Deschanel wore the other night on New Girl but I would definitely need a one-piece!

Have you ascertained by now that I’m about to show you some vintage bathing suits?  Well, you’re right!  First, let me show you a few that I have sold through the years…

Vintage Gingham Romper or Playsuit

My lovely friend Jennifer modeled this amazing gingham romper for me a few years ago.  One of my all-time favorite vintage swim suits!

1940s Jantzen

And what about this gorgeous Jantzen number?  This vintage Jantzen suit was in remarkable condition.

Mid 1960s Vintage Elizabeth Stewart bathing suit.

Bill Blass

Amazing 1980s Bill Blass swim suit.  Also came with a short caftan type cape as a sort of cover-up.

1960s Jantzen

Another vintage Jantzen bathing suit that just recently sold.

But, enough with teasing you with all of the bathing suits I’ve already sold!  I actually have a few vintage bathing suits in the shop!

Vintage Catalina Bathing suit

Gorgeous vintage Catalina bathing suit with bright flowers, late 1960s.  Great modest cut, bit of a dip in the back!

1980s Roxanne

Very similar suit, blue tones.  Vintage 1980s Roxanne bathing suit.

And what about the guys?  Don’t guys like vintage swim wear?  You bet they do!!  Even though I’ve deceptively paired these awesome men’s swim trunks with a ladies’ top, these vintage shorts are really for men.  And yes, ladies, that top is already sold.  :(

McGregor ScotSet Swim Trunks

Don’t forget!  If you see anything interesting, just click on the picture to be taken directly to the shop.

 

 

39 thoughts on “The Supermoon and Vintage Bathing Suits

  1. Pingback: Junk in the Trunk | Vintage Market « ipinterest

  2. Pingback: FASHION FRIDAY: SWIM WORTHY |

  3. You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet to learn more about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this website.

  4. I’m extremely inspired along with your writing skills and also with the
    structure in your blog. Is that this a paid subject matter or did you customize it your self?

    Either way stay up the nice quality writing, it is rare to peer a nice blog like
    this one these days..

  5. Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous
    to and you’re just extremely excellent. I really like what you have acquired here, really like
    what you’re saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise.

    I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is really
    a terrific web site.

  6. Having read this I thought it was extremely enlightening.

    I appreciate you spending some time and
    energy to put this information together. I once again find
    myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  7. It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the future
    and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I
    may I want to counsel you some interesting things or suggestions.
    Maybe you could write subsequent articles regarding this article.
    I desire to read more things approximately it!

  8. Unquestionably believe that which you stated.
    Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net
    the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly
    get annoyed while people think about worries that they
    just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and
    defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a
    signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  9. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog
    posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  10. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating
    it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might
    be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it
    improve over time.

  11. It is truly a nice and useful piece of information. I’m satisfied
    that you simply shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us
    informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  12. What i do not understood is actually how you are no longer actually much more smartly-preferred than you might be
    now. You’re so intelligent. You recognize thus considerably in terms of this subject, produced me for my
    part consider it from so many numerous angles.
    Its like men and women aren’t fascinated until it’s one
    thing to do with Lady gaga! Your individual stuffs
    outstanding. All the time maintain it up!

  13. I blog frequently and I truly appreciate your content.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest.
    I will take a note of your blog and keep checking for new information about once per week.

    I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  14. Can I just say what a relief to uncover an individual who genuinely understands
    what they are discussing online. You actually understand how to bring
    an issue to light and make it important. More and more people really need
    to read this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised you’re not more popular given that you most certainly have the gift.

  15. This is the perfect web site for anyone who would like to understand this topic.
    You understand so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally
    will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin on a subject that’s been written about for years.
    Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

  16. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It will always be exciting to read content from other authors and use a little something from other sites.

  17. Admiring the time and energy you put into your website and in depth information you offer.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the
    same out of date rehashed information. Fantastic read!
    I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

